Level 30: (not) Left for dead

Well what an excellent week I have had let me tell you, I am not joking or over estimating I have probably worked the hardest ever and I have actually really enjoyed myself! I decided upon my final design for my truck and got straight on to 3ds max. I really pushed the boat out for this, as you know I have found 3D work extremely hard to enjoy and do but this week I thought lets challenge myself. My final design features deer skulls and a deer head which I have never modelled before in my life but i decided that now was the time to try and make something i want instead of compromising due to my skill level. Both of the objects modelled took me less than a day to complete and they don’t actually look too bad which was surprising! Everything else I made for my truck was pretty simple so it didn’t take that long to finish and by Wednesday evening I had completed all of the modelling I needed to do! How cool is that??
Now that Wednesday must have been a particularly energetic day for me as I started texturing my model and finished off the new zombie texture for the original hillux, then on the Thursday I unwrapped and textured all of my truck without issue even the complicated deer head that I  managed to photo texture! What a relief! It doesn’t even look half bad which makes me so proud. I have worked so hard this term and although I have seen a lot of trouble with  my work and with my mental health I have finally pushed through and made something that doesn’t look like it’s been made out of clay and thrown out of a window. I am aware there are a lot more things to make progress on and improve but I have the rest of the term to work on that as we don’t have any more scheduled lessons or projects for the rest. I cannot wait to concentrate on my improvement and become better before I start next year!

My life drawing this week was bizarre but actually very interesting, again we had no life model but instead our model was fabric and pillows! We concentrated on tone, the final image was very cool and although halfway through i thought it would never look good the finished piece looked awesome and my tutor really appreciated the detail I put into it.I am glad to see I improved some more and i will continue to enjoy improving!

Here’s my truck for your viewing pleasure!

main render

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment